• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

buying out the family business

danregan

Occupation
Contractor
Anyone done this ?

My Uncle is ready to hang it up now, he is 65 and just discovered you cant renew your DOT card with an insulin dependency which in Massachusetts means no hoisting license as well as no CDL.
Im going to speak with our bank on the 16th of this month, and was wondering what to expect.

90% of our equipment is paid off, does that help?

Im also a Veteran, I think there may be some programs out there for Vets, but I get the runaround from my VA guy.

stumpjumper83

Occupation
Movin dirt
well, what about working for your uncle a while until such time as you have some down, and you learn what's going on. Maybe he can owner finance as well.

Hendrik

I would sit down with a business attorney and an accountant.
Yes, you need to treat this as you would buying a business from a complete stranger.
Go through the books to see the exact state of the financials and work out what the business is worth and how much it is turning over. Then you can start talking with some real figures.
The advantage you have is that you are buying it when the economy is down, so the chances are things will get better rather than worse.
I don't know the set up you have insofar as a client base, it should be alright in this case because the clients know you but it sometimes happens that when a business changes ownership a few clients disappear because they where friends of the previous owners or such and with a new owner may not have that loyalty factor anymore.