• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Burnt oil smell and smoke from under hood ????

Cliffj59

I looked under the hood the other day while the machine was running and the oil smoke was coming out. It looks like it is coming from the turbo area. I guess the line that supplies the turbo with the lubricating oil is leaking Has anyone else had this issue and what could be the possible fixes? Will it hurt to run the machine like this? it dosen't do it all the time just every once in a while. Sorry for all the questions but I'm new to this heavy equipment and don't want to hurt the machine any more than it already is.
Where can I get parts to repair this turbo besides the Caterpillar dealer?

Thanks for all the help...

rigandig

CliffJ, Make sure the leak is from the oil supply hose to the turbo. You might try to tighten it, but if it is from the hose, chances are you will need a new one. You can remove it and take it to a reputable hose shop and have one made. Put some duct tape or something over the fittings that the hose is hooked to to keep dirt and critters out while you have the hose off. The hose should be one made for high temp environments. Before you get into taking the hose off, clean the area and make sure the leak is not from the turbo itself. If you idle the machine a lot, they tend to "slobber". Let us know how you make out with this.

Cliffj59