• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Bucket Questions

gabelmatt

Occupation
Mini Excavator Owner/Operator
This is probleby a stupid question to ask, but I was wondering if any of you guys who have been doing this for a long time have any tricks for keeping mud and clay from sticking in your buckets. I've been digging for 4 years now and always wondered if there was any products of simple tricks for keepin it from sticking.Any help would be great
Thanks

squeak

hi i have a friend who took pieces of chain and laid them in the back of the bucket welding the ends so that the chains dont quite reach the back of the bucket anymore and that seemed to work for him. They are about 7 or 8 inches apart.

might be worth a try:beatsme

maddog

You can take an old tire chain{size depends on bucket} and rig it so as the bucket dumps the chain helps to push the clay out. They also make a bucket that is for clay it has no real sides to speak of.

strott

Occupation
Mini Excavator and dumper operator
You can take an old tire chain{size depends on bucket} and rig it so as the bucket dumps the chain helps to push the clay out. They also make a bucket that is for clay it has no real sides to speak of.

You can get 'clay spades' which is a bucket without sides and teeth but as far as I'm aware these are only available as 9 or 12 inches wide - mainly designed for excavating utility trenches because the narrower buckets are the ones that get clogged up easily.

heavylift

chain in bucket works. weld one end near teeth, then weld a hook on the boom.
you will have to play around with the length of chain

adv.wastewater