1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Bobcat T190

Discussion in 'Compact Track/Multi Terrain Loaders' started by Johnny5590, Mar 25, 2020.

  1. Johnny5590

    Johnny5590 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Scotch Plains NJ
    I’m having problems with my power bob-tach. It suddenly stopped working. Before going further I simply changed the wedge up/down switch. Nothing
    Does anyone know where I should go from here?
    Thanks
     
  2. Txhayseed

    Txhayseed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Texas
    So you changed the swith and it stopted working or it stop working then you changed the switch ?
     
  3. Johnny5590

    Johnny5590 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Scotch Plains NJ
    Good morning
    I changed the switch after it stopped working. But I did not check for power at the switch until after I changed the switch. Yesterday I checked for power at the switch and found none. I checked all fuses but not the relays in the fuse box.
     
  4. Johnny5590

    Johnny5590 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Scotch Plains NJ
    Today I jumped power to the switch. Bobtach now opens from the switch but will not close from the switch.
    it closes when I tilt the bucket hydraulics back to the extreme position.
    What does this situation mean?
    Has anyone else out there had a similar problem?
     
  5. Mbar

    Mbar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Sounds like low charge pressure or the coil not opening the spool far enough and having to dead head the system to make enough pressure
     
    63 caveman likes this.
  6. 63 caveman

    63 caveman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    western Pa.
    Possibly the nut holding the solenoids on the bobtach valve block is loose or missing so not pulling spool out all the way (solenoids just floating on shaft). The valve block on that machine is behind the hydraulic pump (I think) and no fun to get to.
    Good luck and let us know what you find out.
     
  7. Johnny5590

    Johnny5590 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Scotch Plains NJ
    Thank you!
    When I jumped power to the switch the bobtach opens so I would think that the coil works. Right?
    I'm trying to trace the wires from the switch back to the coil to see if there is a break somewhere
     
  8. Johnny5590

    Johnny5590 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Scotch Plains NJ
    Thank you caveman
    I'm having difficulty locating the valve block. You are correct, it's not fun to get to.

    Question: if the bobtach levers open when I jumped power at the switch, can the coil still be bad or would you assume that I have a bad electrical connection?
     
  9. 63 caveman

    63 caveman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    western Pa.
    when you "jump power" you maybe jumping it to the the output pin to just one of the solenoids (open)on the bobtach valve.

    The first thing is to determine is if you have an electrical or hydraulic problem? Since you haven't stated any other problems other than the power bobtach I guess the charge pressure is OK.

    Did you check to see if you have power (12vdc) coming into the switch (pin 2), use a test light if you have one and if so, can you toggle it to the two out put pins 1 and 3 with the switch?
     
  10. Johnny5590

    Johnny5590 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Scotch Plains NJ
    Hi caveman
    I did confirm with a test light that there is no power on the switch located on the console.
    So, with the test light I checked for a power supply from one of the spare auxiliary sockets behind the upper console next to the switch.
    That is where I jumped a temporary wire to the switch so I could open the bobtach in order to change my bucket. The power bobtach opened withe temp power. After attaching my bucket I removed the temp wire because I was fearful of back feeding the circuit and possibly damaging something else.
    To me, it seems like this in an electrical problem. Maybe a broken power wire feeding the switch?
     
  11. Mbar

    Mbar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    North Carolina
    You can google s250 service manual and get a wiring schematic for your machine. The 250 and 190 are the same harness. I’m guessing yours is a g series