1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Biggest Telehandler?

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by Tri-Star, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. Tri-Star

    Tri-Star Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    TN
    Just wondering if anyone knows what the biggest telehandler is? Who makes it and whats the capacity?
     
  2. 544D10

    544D10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    Lucas & Mercier Construction Co.
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    JLG has a 12k capacity model that will reach 55' up.

    Cat TH580B will lift 11k a foot higher to 56'.

    But the big dady of them all is the Manitou MHT 10160 which will lift 36,000lbs, but only 15,430lbs to its max height of 31'10".
     
  3. landrvrnut22

    landrvrnut22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Occupation:
    Field Superintendent
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio, USA.
    Most large tele's are 10,000lb. Gradall, JLG, Skytrak, Lull, all make 10k units. I think JCB may have an 11,000lb unit.

    I guess technically Container stackers are telehandlers, and can lift around 100,000lbs.

    Depends on your definition I suppose.

    Edit: Didnt know JLG made a 12k, learn something new everyday.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  4. JCBgm

    JCBgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    WV, OH, & KY
    Don't forget ZoomBoom. They have a 32k machine that lifts to 32 ft as well.

    www.carelift.com
     
  5. 544D10

    544D10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    Lucas & Mercier Construction Co.
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    ZoomBoom never herd of them. I learned somthing new too.:D
     
  6. Iron Horse

    Iron Horse Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    ,
    I was thinking of buying one once . It was a 360* model which i think would be best . You could just sit in the one spot and service a large area . Take a pallet of tiles off a truck and spin around and put it on the roof etc . You need to be very acurate with a conventional tele . If you set yourself up and lift a pallet up to the roof it is easy for the boom to shift a little with breeze etc so that you cant make your landing point . Ive heard of guy's using the stabilisers to correct this while extended with catastrophic results .
     
  7. Iron Horse

    Iron Horse Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    ,
    This is the one i was going to buy , how good would this thing be ?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. tmc_31

    tmc_31 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Sports Lighting Contractor
    Location:
    Merkel, Tx
    Hey Ironhorse,

    Who makes that thing? Do you have a link to a website for it?

    That may be the cats meow for what I do.

    Tim
     
  9. hvy 1ton

    hvy 1ton Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    It is a Manitou MRT series tele. Kinda like a rough terrian crane without the crane.
     
  10. AtlasRob

    AtlasRob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,983
    Occupation:
    owner operator
    Location:
    West Sussex UK
    Merlo Roto

    The first Rotating telehandler I came across was a Merlo. Whether they were the first or not I dont know but the Manitou is deffinetly a newer addition.
    And now they have a winch to be used just like a crane.
    Added the link and used it and they do indeed claim to be the first :notworthy

    http://www.merlo.co.uk/html/roto.html
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  11. JCBgm

    JCBgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    WV, OH, & KY
    The Manitou is very much like a crane (less the winch). I didn't know they were bringing them to the states yet. Because of the rotating house, they have to have all the safety instrumentation of a crane. If you notice there is a box at the top of the boom along with a reel on the side of the boom. These machines use a Load Moment Indicator (LMI) just like a crane. There are sensors on all the outriggers along with one on the rear axle as well. The cost for the LMI on these machines costs nearly what a economy telescopic costs.
     
  12. tmc_31

    tmc_31 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Sports Lighting Contractor
    Location:
    Merkel, Tx
    Thanks hvy 1ton,

    I looked on the Manitou site, turns out they are not far from me. The MRT 2540 may work for me. I wonder if it will mount a winch at the tip so I can use it like a crane, and if pilot controls are available.
     
  13. ForksNI

    ForksNI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Telehandler Operator
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Hey people for the biggest telehandlers it must be for capacity the Manitou MHT10210- 21 tonne (46000lbs?) lift capacity, & for height the Manitou MRT3050 with a lift height of 29.70 metres (98ft?).

    On the MRT Manitou in the picture the box at the top of the boom is the electro-hydraulic connection for the aerial work platform, the other box at the top of the main boom looks to be the remote control signal receiver. On the larger Roto Manitou's, along with Merlo & Dieci (in US Xtreme) Roto Telehandlers its mounted on upper structure of the machine, mine it's behind the cab.

    It is possible to mount a variety of attachments at the head of the machine, the MRT2450 Privelige I'm on has a set of floating forks,, 6 metre jib with intergated winch, a seperate 5 tonne winch, hydraulic block grab which we can also load out roof tiles with, bucket, a hitch mounted road sweeper & a remote control work platform. The remote control can also be used with the winch, block grab & forks which is invaluable for loading out houses etc especially when you can get the truck drivers to set the stuff handy to where your gona place it ie so that your slewing about 90' to lift it instead of having to tramp all over the site to gather it up.
     
  14. tmc_31

    tmc_31 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Sports Lighting Contractor
    Location:
    Merkel, Tx
    Hey ForksNI,

    I talked to the South Central US Distributor for the Manitou MRT2450 yesterday, he is sending me load charts and a list of attachments. From your post I take it that you are pleased with this machine. Are there any difficulties with it, things that you wish were different?

    I am planning a trip to Waco TX sometime next week to demo one of these units.

    Thanks for your input

    Tim
     
  15. ForksNI

    ForksNI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Telehandler Operator
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Hiya tmc_31,

    I am well pleased with the machine, I came of 1 of our company's Manitou MT1740SLT telehandlers to operate the MRT2540, if your coming of an 'ordinary telehandler to use it you'll find it a little strange at first.

    The only 2 problems i would really have with it are firstly when using it close to its capacity on wheels it can sometimes on rough ground feel a bit unbalanced due to the large front overhang, they should have maybe used a 5 stage boom like the Merlo 40.25MCSS, & secondly other problem I would have with it is caused apparently by legislation in the UK, in that the machine can't be driven to a new position using the remote control.

    The amount of time it saves on site & the mess it saves on for outweighs the two things above, especially if your loading out houses for bricklayers (masons in US?) no driving about to lift packs of brick/block, get them set handy then just slew to get them. The other thing our company has found its good for is timber framed houses, the site I'm had four to go up & they were all done with it saving on the hire cost of the crane that is usually used.

    Hope this has helped a bit, & let me know how you get on with the demo machine.

    Bryan
     
  16. tmc_31

    tmc_31 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Sports Lighting Contractor
    Location:
    Merkel, Tx
    Hey again ForksNI,

    Thanks for the insights. I asked our distributer if it could be driven with the remote controls from the basket, he said no, so i guess it is a universal problem, albiet a minor one for me. I have an appointment to demo the machine next wed in Waco.

    I understand from the distrubitor that wireless remote controls are available or you can get remote controls that plug into the work basket. Do you have either of these, if so which? Can you see any advantages or disadvantages either way?

    Tim
     
  17. ForksNI

    ForksNI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Telehandler Operator
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Hey Tim, apologies for the delay in replying.

    The only time I've used the 'plug in' controls was on rigid telehandlers when they were fitted to work baskets, which to be honest was very few times. Our machine has the wireless remote control, it can be used with the work basket or with the other attachments as well & because of this theres times I'm using it more than driving from the cab. It is a good job for lifting trusses onto roofs or loading out houses espcially on upper floors or anywhere you cant see where the load is going when in machine cab etc as you can be where your placing the stuff at using the remote control instead of relying on someone guiding you by radio or giving hand signals ( which on our site is usually 2 people giving a different signal at the same time :Banghead )

    Did you go for the demo on the MRT, what did you think of it?

    Regards

    Bryan
     
  18. tmc_31

    tmc_31 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Sports Lighting Contractor
    Location:
    Merkel, Tx
    Hello Bryan,

    Unfortunately, I had to reschedule my demo on the MRT (I hate it when work interferes). I hope to go and see it within the next couple of weeks.

    I am pleased to hear that you are successfully using the wireless remote control system. I think it more will be versatile in my application.

    Regards,

    Tim
     
  19. Speedpup

    Speedpup Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,214
    Occupation:
    President and all else that needs done!
    Location:
    New York
  20. albertozordan

    albertozordan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Breganze, Italy