• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

backhoe VS mini excavator production questions

413wedge

Im an owner operator of a cat 420d for about 10 years now. Back in April I bought a Kubota u25 and I have seen the light. I am now seriously considering selling my backhoe to get a 6 ton mini and a CTL. I work almost exclusively for a foundation contractor and the scope of the work we do has changed so drastically in the last few years I have almost no space to run the backhoe. I am wondering if anyone could put some kind of percentage number on the two machines vs. my backhoe. im thinking ill be 30% more efficient on most jobs and almost 50% on other tighter ones. I know that you guys have made the switch from backhoe to excavator and would like to hear some experiences that you guys have had? pros/cons ? am I way off in my thinking?

Deeretracks

Occupation
Shop Foreman
I know our company had 5 backhoes and 3 mini's 7yrs ago. Now we are down to 2 backhoes and have 6 mini's. Our backhoe buckets haven't left the yard in over 2yrs, they just leave the hoepack on all the time. That tells me that the operators greatly prefer digging with a mini even though most of ours are much smaller than the 580m-2's that we have.

Plebeian

This video illustrates the backhoe vs mini excavator issue. The mini using less fuel than the back hoe. The main thing is to get the best mini excavator possible.
http://youtu.be/2Uu9-lReXSM
How much of the site preparation do you do? The Compact track loader can run a laser controlled leveller etc.

413wedge