• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Auctions

68Chevelle327

How many of you bought equipment out of state using online auctions? And did you buy it without looking at it in person?

I'm looking for a backhoe, and obviously, its not as easy as buying a truck or a car local. I can locate decent deals out of state, but I'm not comfortable forking over thousands without looking at it in person. I do drive to the local auctions in state. I already ran across some that had surprises and looked much better online than it did in person.

I'm a newbie looking for pointers. This might sound stupid but are there people that work on the side checking over equipment at auctions for people out of state?

Delmer

good luck, it's bad enough trying to look at all the possible things that can go wrong in person, online is a crapshoot. You're taking a huge chance vs dealing locally.

You can always post a specific machine or location on here or similar sites, but you're still taking a chance if you trust the person who replies, and are they going to find every thing, big or little.

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
I am going to move this thread from the Shop Forum to General Industry Questions as it fits better there.

Back on topic I've had decent luck buying through Iron Planet on smaller items. I've bought 2 trench rollers on IP that have made me money, a new pair of Bobcat hydraulic forks still on the pallet, a Honda powered trash pump the seller said was locked up however on the water veins inside the pump were rusted together and a new 3 CY gravel/bedding box.