1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Anyone running a new style Bobcat Grader attachment?

Discussion in 'Compact Equipment Attachments' started by KSSS, Sep 7, 2014.

  1. TriHonu

    TriHonu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    You have to be logged into Facebook before his page will be displayed.
     
  2. Equip Junkie

    Equip Junkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta
    Wonder if it is because I am from Canada. Doesn't seem to work. I went to your website and tried to follow the Facebook link there as well and it did the same thing. Brings me to my home page. I also noticed a number of your video's on your website were blacked out. Oh well, thanks for trying. I could see the pics on your website. Looks good.
     
  3. CRAFT

    CRAFT Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Occupation:
    30 yrs Owner/Operator
    Location:
    100 M H,BC,Canada
    Same thing exactly Happened to Me KSSS ….. I thought it was another internet server thing ….but its not ….

    It's really too bad to, because I had been following you on this to see the outcome ….. I used an older version of the grader you bought, but being that I have a Bcat there were no issues with plug'n play as you are working thru …… but the grader was awesome to use ….. for where i'm located (and our local economy) I couldn't justify the grader purchase at that time, but it is on the Back-Burner to get one …. Cheers and have fun !!!
     
  4. bigbob

    bigbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Lee,NH
    It worked fine for me.
     
  5. cdm123

    cdm123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    manitoba canada
    Not for me.
     
  6. PDG X

    PDG X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Occupation:
    Owner Operator
    Location:
    Florida
    Lick on the link - login to your acct - then come back and click the link again. Should get you there.

    What joystick control(s) do you use for the grader functions ?
     
  7. Equip Junkie

    Equip Junkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta
    When I click on the link it automatically pulls up my facebook and I am already logged in. Still nada. :) Leave it to the wonderful world of facebook.
     
  8. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,962
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho

    The attachment requires 4 aux switches to run. You need to control the moldboard side shift, mold board angle and the moldboard raise and lower. The raise and lower is independent to each side and so the 4 switches. Bobcat puts the right side height adjustments on the right control handle and same on the left hand control handle. I want to duplicate this setup as it is very intuitive. The issue is I have 3 aux switches that are open plus the roller switch that controls the flow and locks on. This will need to be engaged to keep flow to the attachment. There is another attachment on/off switch that I don't use for anything that I will replace with another aux. switch. So I think at this point I can make this work as intended. I am fortunate that I have as many aux. switches on my control handle as I do, although one more open switch would have been ideal, but I think I can still get where I want to be.

    It appears that our neighbors to the North must have some kind of FB block that prevents you guys from accessing FB in the States. As soon as I get this converted to run on my CASE CTL, I will post video to my website or to here directly.

    I am really looking forward to getting this up and running. I would have never guessed that the attachment could cut as well as it does. The 3K pounds of attachment and the weight of the CTL make a powerful grading tool.
     
  9. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,962
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho
    I did not want to pay as much as they were asking for this attachment. The 13.5 with the end caps is steep in my view. I have been trying to find a compact motor grader and was unable to find what I wanted for what I was willing to pay. I have been subbing out a lot of parking lot work that we should be doing ourselves, but I could not be competitive without a blade. So I started researching these attachments, while expensive, they are a 15-20% the cost of a decent used compact motor grader. Hopefully they are at least 80% as productive, I think it will be at least close to that.

    Hands down, no one does attachment intergration like Bobcat does. The blade worked slick as ice on the T870. I just ordered some additional counter-weight for my TR320. After searching the market for an alternative, there is also no doubt that this latest version of this grader attachment is the best available, you just have to pay for it. I did find an 84" on CL in the Twin Cities for almost half the price of this one, near new condition. However the 84" only has a manual side shift, and is 1500 pounds lighter and 10" shorter. I considered it but decided that the heft and features of this one were worth the additional investment.
     
  10. lumberjack

    lumberjack Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Columbus, MS
    Does the Bobcat send continuous flow to the grader also?

    Four switches will be something for me to figure out on my Kubota, if I get one. I have two aux buttons on the left stick, the right has a proportional switch and a continuous flow for each direction.
     
  11. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,962
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho
    When I was speaking to Skid Steer Solutions they said that the Kubota guys are forced to use an additional mounted control station due to only have two available switches. The BC requires continues flow as well.
     
  12. Equip Junkie

    Equip Junkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta
    KSSS, I am looking at hooking up a laser to my Bobcat T770. I want to use the integrated control system. Did you end up with a Bobcat grader? If so, how does the laser receivers interface with the machine. Is there control box built into the grader blade? Were do the cables from the receiver plug in, the grader or the machine? No one at my local dealer has ever seen a set up up close or know enough about the lasers to be able to tell me if I can attach poles and receivers to my machine. Maybe you can take some picks of the cable connections on the bobcat grader and how it connects. That would be awesome :)

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Equip
     
  13. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,962
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho
    I have bought the attachment and we are still working on the interface. However since you have a BC it is much easier for you. There are plug ins as I recall on both sides of the grader for laser readers. The rest is pretty much plug and play for you. I am told that with the BC you plug in the 7 pin connector to the machine and the switch to the grader attachment on the display on the machine and you are set. I ran the attachment on a T870 and it was really slick (at the BC dealer). I have the attachment at the CASE dealer right now so I cant take a picture of it right now.
     
  14. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,962
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho
    Perhaps someone more familiar with newer BC machines can speak to what your T770 needs to be able to run the grader from in the machine. I am assuming that as long as you have the control screen in the BC (which may be standard, I am not sure) that should be all you need.
     
  15. Equip Junkie

    Equip Junkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta
    I don't have the grader, I have a bobcat dozer blade. I have the control screen, which is standard with a SJC model. I am thinking that if I get a mounting kit for the grader, laser, wiring harness, I would be able to hook it up and use the dozer blade just like the grader. But no one can answer me yet. No one knows how the wiring harness connects from the receivers to the machine. Whether it is through a special connection on the grader or through the 7 pin connector sometime. I am going to see the next time I am at bobcat if they can buy just the wiring harness and see if they have a picture of it on the parts break down.

    Equip
     
  16. Yellowdog

    Yellowdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    With the new machines, as with the old, if you have the electrical hookup that's all you need. I have as many functions on my stump grinder as a grader has and the electrical connection and machine software make the bridge to separate out my hydraulic functions since I'm only hooking up 3 hoses and an a electric connection and have the motor and two or three cylinders to power at the same time.

    My old BC grader worked the same way but it was a 2001 model on a 2001 model 773. Still, the electrical connection is plug and play and the machine will recognize it.
     
  17. Equip Junkie

    Equip Junkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta
    My 6-way dozer has two hyd hoses and one electrical connection. It works just fine when you plug in the electrics. I am just wondering where the wiring from the receivers will connect. Some how they have to connect to the machine. If you plug them into the machine direct, what do you do with the electrical connection of the dozer blade? I am hoping when I go into BC next week to be able to see a picture of the wiring harness to see if there is a connection for the implements electrics built into the wiring harness for the receivers. Just not sure and they don't understand what I am asking at BC. :)

    .
     
  18. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,962
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho
    I think there will be some challenges with hooking up lasers to that blade beyond the simple electronics. The short footprint of the machine will make it challenging I think to doze effectively with the laser. Certainly not impossible but I would anticipate you will need to go rather slow so the machine can react quick enough to make the changes automatically. I would also guess you will need to spin your laser rather fast as well to keep the input coming in fast enough. The longer wheel base set ups like this grader and box blades like Level Best and Southern Precision, lend themselves much better for this application. There are commercially available setups that use this system like Dual Dozer
    http://dualdozer.com/
    However even with this the wheelbase is longer and has wheels which will help make it more effective than a dozer blade itself. Just my opinion, likely worth half what you paid for it.
     
  19. Construct'O

    Construct'O Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Occupation:
    Dozerwork,tiling plus many more!!!!!!!
    Location:
    SW Iowa
    I bought a Bobcat box scraper at an auction.It had all the circuit board stuff on the back of the box.i put it on a Cat CTL i could have gotten a cable from Bobcat to go from 7 pin to 14 ,but the cost was like $300 dollars then still getting it wired over to the Cat plug was going to be a hassle.So i elimated the circuit board and tied my laser control box right into the electric solinoids of hydraulic on the box scraper.Simplfied things for me.

    Box scraper was kind of a joke because to contol grade the front wheel raise and lower.So if you are trying to cut more then loose material the wheels raise in the air trying to made the box dig in.The box doesn't like hard material.

    The only way to make it dig is if you actual could hook into your loader main cylinders arms to force the box down with the weight of the machine and the loader arms doing the grading instead of the wheel on a box scraper.So i just use a dozer to get it on grade and the box scraper to clean up the crumbs.
     
  20. Equip Junkie

    Equip Junkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta
    Thanks for the input. At any rate, I will have to purchase a laser sooner rather than later. I have a sight that I use, but I am often alone and it is pretty much impossible to do with only one person. :( Just might get a magnetic or clamp on receiver and mount it in the middle to get me close.