• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Aging and Wrenching

Zewnten

I am going on my second year as a mechanic. I am 30 but with my eye on the future. All the mechanics I know, with a couple exceptions, all need or have had major surgery due to job related injuries. How do you guys avoid this or does it just come with the territory and I should plan on developing my administrative career as I get older?

92U 3406

Occupation
Wrench Bender
I'm 27 but I've been doing this for over 9 years now. I'm not beat up, broken or sore yet. Work smart, not hard is the best advice I can give. We have jacks, hoists, cranes etc now. No need to be manhandling components. Use knee pads/mats to save your knees, comfortable boots to save your joints and wear rubber gloves when working with chemicals, oils etc.

funwithfuel

Occupation
Mechanic
X2 X1000. Nothing hurts when you're young . It's when you hit about 34-35. Your joints start to ache. Might notice a little slower recovery from little bruises or scrapes. 92U 3406 hit the nail dead on. Take care of yourself. One day you'll go to do something you've done hundreds of times before and either sprain, strain or damage yourself or it'll just hurt like hell.
Don't sit on concrete or steel
Don't jump off tires and tracks
Do cover up in the winter.
Don't forget frostbite sneaks up on you.
Do eat well and healthy
Do spend extra on quality boots that fit right
Do wear your PPE , especially eyes and ears, you don't know your hurting yourself till it's too late.
Do take it easy with large/heavy air tools. Some of those impacts on the bolts are coming back into your body after all.