1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

973 two speed not working

Discussion in 'Track Loaders' started by gwhammy, Aug 11, 2021.

  1. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    missouri
    I'm looking at a 95 973 cat loader. Run it today and the two speed isn't kicking into high. Everything else seems to work great. It had both track motors rebuilt in around 2007 by the current owner. He said one motor was lazy so they had the cat dealer rebuild both of them. It's a little lazy taking off also but I think it needs the hydrostat filter changed I don't know the hours on it but it's on it's second set of rails and they are at around 60 to 70 percent. I was told there is a pressure sensor that makes them shift it the high side that can go bad.
     
  2. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19,033
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    A Serial Number gets you the electrical schematic.
     
    ZigidyZag, Cat977 and Vetech63 like this.
  3. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19,033
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    My apologies, I thought the 2-speed was electrically-controlled - it's not.
    See attached SysOp document from Page 35 onwards. I took a punt on S/N prefix of 32Z. If it's not that then let me know and I can confirm if the document attached applies.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    missouri
    86G and in the high 12 hundred serial number. Thanks
     
  5. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19,033
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Slightly different document but the principle remains the same.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    missouri
    Thanks Nige, that's a whole lot of info to digest. Finding someone who knows these machines is probably far and few between. I'm guessing it taking off slow and the two speed are all in the adjustments. Looks real easy to screw up if you get more than one in the wrong setting.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2021
  7. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19,033
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    If he doesn't appear with any comments/suggestions, send a PM to Cmark. He's the specialist in Cat hydrostatic track loader drive systems.
    It may not be adjustment-related at all.
     
  8. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    missouri
    I talked in depth to my mechanic today. He said it's up to a days work with the proper set of pressure gauges to set it up. It's really hard to get lost if you don't have them. He's done lots of 53 and 63's and a few 973's. After talking with him for a half hour and explaining how it run and acted he didn't think it would have any mechanical problems. I've been on skid steer and loaders all my career and have run machines with hydrostats weak or going out and this machine doesn't act that way.
     
  9. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    missouri
    Just talked to the guy that has run it and he said he did some adjusting on linkages when they got it. We will see when I get it to the shop.
     
  10. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19,033
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    That could be a major “oh sh1t” right there.
     
    Tinkerer likes this.