• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

955K Steering Clutch questions

wagspe208

I bought the 955K S/N 85J4318 or something like that.
It seems to slow down in forward. Reverse it hauls ass. When going from 1 to 2 to 3 in forward if really loaded it will stall. Not the engine, forward motion. The left pedal goes almost to the floor. The right one not quite that far.
Are there separate forward and reverse clutches? Or just left/ right side.
Give me a quick overview of how it works. I am a mechanic on industrial stuff, not dozers, though.
So, engine, pump, convertor, trans, clutches? Order and such.

Should I drop the $$ for a service manual from Cat, or is there another excellent source?
Thanks
Wags

Buckethead

Occupation
Operator
I bought the 955K S/N 85J4318 or something like that.
It seems to slow down in forward. Reverse it hauls ass. When going from 1 to 2 to 3 in forward if really loaded it will stall. Not the engine, forward motion.
Wags

I can't know for sure without being there, but what you are describing, sounds like you are shifting to a higher gear when you should be in first. Re: the steering clutches and the power train you really need the Cat service manual. I believe there was a company that made reprints. I think it was called Jensales if I remember correctly. The steering clutches are not hard to adjust, the procedure is in the manual.

wagspe208

Roger. Are they actually steering clutches, or are they drive clutches? Same for forward and reverse? Or different sets?
I assume you apply the brakes, the clutches slip, machine turns, let off brakes, machine goes back to forward.