• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

953 front idler rubbing

JD8875

I tightened the tracks on my 953 Friday and after doing so it began to squawk terribly from the right front idler. I thought sure I'd lost the idler bearing. After pulling the guards to check the oil in the bearing I found the center "rib" of the idler rubbing against the yoke of the track tensioner cylinder. The rails on the machine aren't that badly worn, so my thought is there has to be a way to adjust the front idler out and "reset" it so to speak. Problem is I'm not that experienced to know what I'm looking for there if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks
John

d9gdon

I had the same problem a couple of months ago, a helper overtightened the tracks and while working in sand, the track loaded up and bent the idler adjusting rod. This was on a 05Z serial number 953.

These track loaders don't adjust like a dozer which slides on the track frame rail. These pivot on bearings(bushings) on the bottom of the track frame. It'll have 3 bolts in a triangle shape and that's what it pivots on. Those bearings could be slopped out. Some of them are greaseable, mine were not.

Also, that adjusting rod is a weak point in the design of the machine. They were known to bend and break.

According to tctractors, there's another bolt hole that you can move the idler or pivot point to and get some more life out of the adjustment with worn rails. He said it was in the service manual, but I didn't have one.

Check and see if your rod is bent.

JD8875