• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

6v92 detroit coolant in oil?

nodwell

I have an old snow blower truck that has a great running 6v92t for the blower. I was hoping someone could give me some clues about the most likely places the coolant could be leaking into the oil. I don't see any oil in the radiator and I pulled the inspection covers off the air boxes in the block and don't see any evidence of coolant there. Any advice I can get is greatly appreciated. Please excuse any lack of knowledge I might have, since I am not a professional mechanic. Thanks in advance!!

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Check to make sure that the weep hole for the water pump is not plugged.
Dang mud daubers can be a bitch about plugging up those hole especially on an engine that sets for long periods of time! Had a 16V-71 water pump seal that would not leak coolant under pressure but would when set over night. So if checking do it both ways.

Almost forgot to mention, INJECTOR TUBE ORINGS! Pull valve covers and look for trails coming down from under injectors.

Might also be able to see leaking from head seals if looking down the oil drain hole at lower edge of heads.

nodwell