1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

623B

Discussion in 'Scrapers' started by typ4, Jun 30, 2018.

1. typ4

typ4 Well-Known Member

Equipment mechanic for a small company.
    Gentlemen,

So, im not experienced on Cat equipment,
    Can the stator be repaired in the torque convertor from the back without pulling the trans diff package out?

Thanks in advance
    Russ

2. Nige

Nige Senior Member

Don't think so, but others may have differing opinions. Here is the D&A

Attached Files:

3. typ4

typ4 Well-Known Member

We have it apart and if the book is correct, since it is clear as mud, the cam ring was in backwards. New one is clearly marked impeller side and is now installed correctly..
    Cat builds things differently.

4. typ4

typ4 Well-Known Member

5. d9gdon

d9gdon Senior Member

Did you recently rebuild it and put it in wrong or was it that way for a while?

6. typ4

typ4 Well-Known Member

We just bought the machine. It was in right. I matched wear pattern on thrust plate. Testing tomorrow.
    Problem was it wouldn't climb the pile , acted like it just powered out. 1st & 2nd.
    Almost pulled it in third, which if I understand correctly goes around the convertor.
    Only thing common in those two gears is convertor and clutch 1

7. Nige

Nige Senior Member

Is there a chance that the freewheel mechanism for the stator is acting up and not locking the stator in position when it’s in converter drive..? That would give you symptoms just like converter stall.

8. d9gdon

d9gdon Senior Member