1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

3D Modeling

Discussion in 'Computer Applications and 3D Modeling' started by Tmerr, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    I use Trimble Business Center 2.2 to create svd and svl files for our machines and our layout controllers. After I am done elevating lines I use the 3D feature to look at the end result. The problem is that, to me, this only shows me obvious problems and not the subtle ones that I need to solve for the dozer guys. I have also used the machine simulation found in Trimble site vision office, but it takes alot of time to cover the entire jobsite. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what the best tool for reviewing a job once you have the ttm file and the linework. Obviously, I don't want to have to buy a whole new package. Maybe I am using the right tool and just need some tips on what to look for. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. morganasphalt

    morganasphalt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Salt lake city, Utah
    I just look at the surface in 3d view with vertical exaggeration up a lot to see if there is any foul ups or any places that i need to fix. What problems are you talking about the dozer guys may see that you don in the 3d view?
     
  3. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    Thanks for responding morganasphalt. I was playing with the vertical exaggeration and that did help some. I think my biggest problem can only be solved by experience. I need to get better at looking at
    what they are trying to accomplish instead of taking too literally what the architect has drawn.
     
  4. morganasphalt

    morganasphalt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Salt lake city, Utah
    I also noticed a new tool in BC the other day. I don't have it open but if you right click on the surface and go to properties, then in the property pane under plan view or 3d view there's an option to turn on show slope arrows. That's helped me fine flat spots and other areas that are messed up. You can also use the surface slicer option.
    How do you like BC? Did you ever use Terramodel? I think its a huge step up from Terramodel.
     
  5. Surveyroads

    Surveyroads New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    alberta
    Hello! I Am trying to compare two surfaces the difference should be about 500 000 cubic m but its only 5000 any suggestions?????????????
    I measured from the same height and control point!
    I think its something I am doing in the drafting?
    Any help please
     
  6. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    Business Center

    Business center is light years ahead of Terramodel. Terramodel was like Greek to me. I wish that assigning elevations to lines was simpler. It is alot of work to constantly break lines and re-join them. I would like to be able to add an elevation to any point on the line by clicking on that spot. That would be nice.
     
  7. AGGIE SURVEYOR

    AGGIE SURVEYOR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    CONSTRUCTION SURVEYOR
    Location:
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Run contours in smaller increments like 0.10'. You will quickly see the blips.
     
  8. MCguy

    MCguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    When I am finished building any model I also run the contours @ 0.10' to really see how my slopes and grades look, especially when build a 8 mile highway with many variations of transitions ans slopes.
     
  9. Fredjones

    Fredjones New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I like Modelling shows. I always watch online this show. I have not good knowledge about this but i watch regular...
     
  10. bethany22

    bethany22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    london
    Since I started 3d modelling, I have been using trimble, Most problems with trimble are their updates. Once it gets updated, the new user interface can be a bit of a challenge to use.
     
  11. KyleM

    KyleM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    GPS and Technology Manager
    Location:
    Karratha
    Your dealer should be able to provide you with release notes that will show you what has been added or changed which should make it easier to adjust.

    Looking forward to the new look of TBC in 2.8!
     
  12. lodgey

    lodgey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    Indeed true. this is the best solution that one can provide. Contact with your provider buddy.