• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

320B Speed sensor calibration problems

bcole4

Hi all,

First time posting in the forum. Read a lot on here and learned a ton, really appreciate everyones tips and advice. Im just getting into machines out here in Hawaii and learning a lot from everyone I can.

Have a 320b that having trouble with the speed sensor calibration. The old monitor was bad so replaced it and now I'm not able to complete the calibration for the speed sensor. I replaced the speed sensor because the other one was at 0 ohm resistance.

When I try to calibrate as soon as I initiate calibration I get error code HF 01 (engine stops). I have the manuals and it doesnt tell me where to go next when that happens so I'm hoping someone else has some troubleshooting advice for me. Ive read posts where people say they just keep trying when they have other errors and eventually it works but I have tried a LOT of times and the same thing always happens.

Any advice on troubleshooting this issue would be much appreciated!!

-Britton

Mark250

Occupation
heavy equipment technician
How did you adjust the sensor position relative to the gear teeth /
Procedure is to turn until sensor touches gear teeth and back out 3/4 of a turn. Make sure high point of gear tooth is visible through hole
in service mode enter service 12. Is the engine speed displayed?

bcole4

What's the machine Serial Number.?
I have a suspicion that what you need is Cat Publication reference RENR1998 but only the Serial number will confirm that.
Do a forum search and iit ought to throw up a few results.

Hi Nige,