• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

2nd operator requirement

mark nicklas

what is the purpose,task reason for this job???
i got a
question,i am a crane operator,i had a union call yesterday for 2nd operator on a 1300 lieberr,the hall portrayed the crane as 1300ton and i passed.i realize now it was only a 300tn.what is the purpose of the 2nd operator anyway??? been local 12 for 20years and never encountered a 2nd operator call out or no the purpose..also i was luffer config too..

crane operator

Are they running 2 shifts? if not, they may be willing to pay to have a second operator on site everyday for if the first guy gets sick or doesn't show up, usually this is for a high pressure short term job, like a turn around on a refinery where down time is millions. They can't afford not to have a operator for the crane, and no work happening, just because someone is sick, so they're willing to pay a second guy to back up the first.

old-iron-habit

Occupation
Retired Cons't. Supt./Hospitals
In some juristictions once you get to a certain size crane, or certain size boom and luffer, a second operator or more commonly called oiler is required. He takes care of the daily maintainence of the machine, watches over things during the picks, and can take over the seat as needed.

crane operator

I've never heard a oiler called second operator- maybe thats a more politically correct term? Also-- I've met very few oilers that would be capable of sliding in the seat. Usually someone able to slide in the seat is running a different crane elsewhere.

But old iron habit teaches me new things all the time:D!

old-iron-habit