• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

2001 cat 730 ADT

chandler starling

F82EA54D-C491-4946-98EE-A944F17F1EE0.jpeg A6FA10D5-6DC3-4080-9EC3-5F1BDADF4346.jpeg Good morning, This is my first post but I have been reading and following many different threads.

I have searched this site and the internet for info on separating a Cat 730, with no luck. S/n AGF 0366. I am new to the ADT world. I was able to pick this one up at a local auction for a fair price. As we were operating it you could see some movement in the bottom hitch pin. You can Occasionally Feel the slop in the cab. So I’m trying to gather as much info on the task of separating and replacing the pin, bearing and seals ourself, or should I take it to the dealer.

We have the equipment and tools to service our full fleet of equipment . This is just a new task. Also the operator complains about the ride being rough. Would this pin have something to do with that.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Is your problem in the hitch itself or is it in the spherical bearing in the A-frame that mounts on the bottom of the lower hitch..? Section A-A in the illustration below, the spherical bearing #1 mounts in a tapered sleeve #5. TBH in our artics this is the most common area to get play rather than the hitch itself. Take a look to see whether or not the remote grease line for the spherical bearing is actually in one piece, they are usually bust which leads to bearing failure if not spotted. Cross your fingers that the worn bearing hasn't egged out the bore in the suspension frame #4.