1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

15kw Generac standby unit

Discussion in 'Generators/Gensets' started by colson04, Nov 28, 2019.

  1. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    I was given a standby generator a year ago that doesn't function properly and I can't seem to find service information on it. Prior owners replaced it because it kept shutting down right after startup. The tech report pointed to a faulty water temperature sensor and listed it as non-available part. Owners opted to replace unit instead of trying to track down parts. Electrician friend of mine got it for free and then gave it me because he decided he didn't have time for another project. I figured I would fart around and see if I could get it running. I have not done anything with this unit yet as I'm trying to find service manuals, operator manuals, etc first. A search on Generac website comes up with nothing for the model number or the serial number. 20190721_115021.jpg 20190721_115239.jpg 20190721_115229.jpg

    Pictures are of the data plate and the numbers cast into the block.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  2. seville009

    seville009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    CNY
    Send an email directly to Generac; I’ve read in other forums that they’re pretty responsive.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  3. Bumpsteer

    Bumpsteer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Occupation:
    Mechanical designer
    Location:
    mid Michigan
    As said contact Generac, I would call them, might get lucky and get someone that is willing to help.

    Ed
     
    DMiller likes this.
  4. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    The Generac system does not return anything about that model or serial. But it is pretty old. However I bet I know what it is. Post some farther back shots of the control panel opened up and the engine. I should be able to get you the info.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  5. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    I will do that when I get home. Might be a couple days though.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  6. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6,082
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    BACK Away from the generator JUST a Tad and drop a photo of the Whole engine if you would. Please.
     
    Ronsii likes this.
  7. MarshallPowerGen

    MarshallPowerGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    Diesel & Generator Mechanic
    Location:
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
    As said, get some pictures of the engine, I should have a manual for it. Generac was really into claiming every engine they put in as a "Generac" whether it was a Ford, GM, Nissan, Mitsubishi, etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019
    DMiller likes this.
  8. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    I only had a couple minutes to snap some quick picks. If this doesn't have what you're looking for, I'll get some more pictures tomorrow when I have some more time.
    20191204_151335.jpg 20191204_151341.jpg 20191204_151419.jpg 20191204_151444.jpg
     
    Ronsii and DMiller like this.
  9. hosspuller

    hosspuller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tofas … a Turkish delight for service
     
    Mother Deuce and DMiller like this.
  10. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    Hosspuller, you know anything about these Turkish Fiats? Where to get parts on the aftermarket?

    Colson, it probably has wire #85 that comes from pin 2 on the PCB and runs around to the various shutdown switches on the engine, LOP, HET and LWL. Trace out the wire and put a voltmeter on it to ground. If they are all open circuit then it should show near battery voltage on this wire. If one is starting to go bad or is closed then it will be at near ground potential. Anything less than battery voltage indicates a partial short or similar.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  11. hosspuller

    hosspuller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Sorry … No help .. Just interesting that Generac used a Turkish engine. Perhaps they were built under license by Fiat. Then Fiat parts would cross. Similar to Mahindra and Massey Ferguson.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  12. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6,082
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Fiat
    And I thought had it bad with a Allis
    Whew!!
    Is there anything Fiat did not get into and ruin?
     
    Ronsii likes this.
  13. Vetech63

    Vetech63 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,819
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    what is the engine not doing besides running? LOL does it turn over and smoke any?
     
    mg2361 and DMiller like this.
  14. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    @Birken Vogt Just to verify, can I test wire 85 while engine is not running?

    I don't have this hooked up to a propane source yet as I'm just getting around to sorting out what is wrong with it. I still have to get a propane tank, fittings, whatever it needs to get hooked up. It has a battery, but that is probably toast by now too.

    For testing purposes, can these generators be hooked to a small 20 or 30 lb tank for test runs? If so, what components would be necessary to do so?
     
    DMiller likes this.
  15. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    In short, I was told it would start, but then shut down because the controller thought it was overheating. I haven't done anything to this yet except take pictures. I'm starting with the information shared to me and the fact that I don't know anything about this unit, yet. I was told (no, I have not verified yet) that engine is not overheating and temperature sending unit went bad. They attempted to replace but Generac does not support this unit anymore. the electrician working on it installed a newer style sending unit that is used on the newer generators, and the problem didn't change. They were told by Generac that the two sending units are of different type and are not interchangeable. This is when original owner opted for newer and improved and a few years down the road, it wound up at my doorstep.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  16. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    Wire 85 will be grounded by the LOP switch when the engine is not running. I don't think there is any way to tell if the unit was overheating or otherwise to the casual observer, they were probably just guessing. 85 is the single fault wire that runs around to every switch on the unit for shutdown and it just gives a single light. If I had to guess I would say the low coolant level switch was failing partially grounded because I have seen that before. But if others got in there and put on a gauge sender instead of an overheat switch then it's anybody's guess what is going on.

    Keep in mind that everything on this unit is suspect from the starter motor to the engine block (corrosion) to the alternator to the timing belt (where do we get a new one?) to the fan support to the generator end bearing to the voltage regulator to the control board, the list just never ends. Also don't ever move that 0-1-2-3 switch on the control panel unless you want to see sparks and fire.
     
    colson04 and DMiller like this.
  17. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6,082
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Looks a opportunity for a repower!!
     
    Ronsii and colson04 like this.
  18. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    I had that thought too when I accepted this project. Go find a cheap 2.0L pinto engine and start from there. Or 4B Naturally Aspirated Cummins, something of that sort. It'll probably end up as scrap long before I ever get to doing a repower though. I love a challenge, but I always seem short on time.
     
    Ronsii and DMiller like this.
  19. colson04

    colson04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Delton, Michigan
    I appreciate the insight. When I do get around to starting this thing I will keep sharing here. I know time doesn't treat idle machinery well in any regard and this is no exception. It would be neat to see it put back in service, but I'll be realistic about my expectations.

    What's the 0-1-2-3 switch do?
     
    DMiller likes this.
  20. hosspuller

    hosspuller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Usually, the switch reads voltage & amps of each phases. Zero = off (at least on Power panels)

    I wonder what was in the empty square hole.
     
    DMiller likes this.