1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

12KW genset

Discussion in 'Generators/Gensets' started by Tugger2, Oct 4, 2020.

  1. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Came across a 12 KW Newage genset with Izuzu power nicely set up on a skid with a roof and fuel tank. Price is 2500.00 ,but says it just needs a voltage regulator. What kind of task is that to repair,if thats really all it needs?
     
  2. MarshallPowerGen

    MarshallPowerGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Occupation:
    Diesel & Generator Mechanic
    Location:
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
    If it is just an AVR, it's as easy as some mounting hardware and either and plug or swapping individual spade connectors over to the new unit.

    Any chance of a model/serial? Is this local where you could actually check it out? Any info on how they determined it's a bad AVR (besides saying, "It isn't making power")?
     
  3. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I have not gone that far looking at it. I lose enthusiasm when someone says it just needs this ,but its not my field of expertise. Thats why i posted here just to see if i its worthwhile to investigate further. Based on your post if its just the voltage reg ,ill check it out and post further details.
    Thanks
     
  4. MarshallPowerGen

    MarshallPowerGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Occupation:
    Diesel & Generator Mechanic
    Location:
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
    If it's a no voltage issue; Could be looking at a rotor, stator, AVR, brushes/slip rings (if a brushed gen end) or PMG exciter. It's never a guarantee it's just the AVR, but that's the first thing to blame if someone is unable to test the different components.

    If you can see it in person and pull the rear cover, can see if anything is burnt up. Also if possible good to see if it's a low voltage (excitation) issue or actual no voltage issue.
     
    Tugger2 and mg2361 like this.
  5. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,196
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    If it is "just" the VR, how come they did not "just" replace it themselves and get more money?

    I hate that word "just"

    An Isuzu motor on a Newage gen head is top of the line in my book, though.
     
    Delmer and Tugger2 like this.
  6. spark

    spark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    st. gabriel la
    use a battery and put 12vdc on exciter leads marked F1 and F2 voltage output should be approx 200 vac if connected 120/240 volts 1 phase.
     
  7. spark

    spark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    st. gabriel la
    Remove F leads from voltage regulator to do test
     
  8. Camshawn

    Camshawn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Langley BC
    Look for signs of mice when the cover is off as well. We had so much mouse damage in one unit that we had to have a new wiring harness installed.
    Cam
     
  9. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    PA051975.JPG PA051979.JPG PA051976.JPG Here it is ,sorry i just realized i didnt take a picture of the inside wiring as it is. I would like this to be putting out single phase,idealy a panel box with a 220/240 plug and a couple of 110/120 plugs.
     
  10. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,196
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    Hook it up per the upper right double delta connection. U and W are your 240 output.
     
  11. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    PA051976.JPG PA061983.JPG

    To the untrained electrical eye going from the diaghram on the lid to whats in the box looks a bit daunting. I dont want any sparks . Are U and W marked on the terminals under the wire groups?
     
  12. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,816
    Location:
    sw missouri
    No guts no glory.
     
  13. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,196
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    U and W are imaginary. If you reconnect the wires as shown in the double delta, those corners shown become U and W and that is where your hot wires land. But it depends on how you rearrange those numbered wires where U and W will end up.
     
  14. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I had the guts ,but the glory didnt replace the electrical devices ive fried in the past. So now i ask questions.
     
    MarshallPowerGen likes this.
  15. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Thats the 64$ question ,how you rearrange the wires . Im getting the feeling this might be above my pay grade if i want to end up with a working generator. Ive hooked up some 3 phase stuff in my shop with reasonable success .
     
  16. MarshallPowerGen

    MarshallPowerGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Occupation:
    Diesel & Generator Mechanic
    Location:
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
    Are the ID labels on the wires intact? If so, can get you wired up.
     
  17. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,196
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    You just land them on whatever studs they will fit so they are in the right combination for the diagram you are using. U1, V6 and your sensing wire 8 go to a particular stud and are also one of your hots. V5 and W2 go to another stud. W1, U2, V2, U5 go on some other stud and that is your neutral.. And so on. If the numbered wires are on opposite sides you use one of those brass plates to link 2 studs together. You will have extra brass plates so just double them up so they are not lost for the next guy.
     
  18. Tugger2

    Tugger2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Yes the the id labels are still intact .What does it mean wire 6 may not be required ? I will get into it tonight after work. Thankyou for the direction.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2020