• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Studying improving experience for repairing machines

tom_groom

Hi my name is Tom, new member, I'm a student at University of Illinois Chicago. We are looking at how people repair heavy equipment and finding ways to improve the experience of everyone from technicians and engineers at larger companies to self-employed contractors.

We are specifically looking at:

How people identify a specific problem in a machine.
How a defective part itself is then identified (via serial number of part, finding it in physical manuals, etc).
How that part is ordered.

We have been focusing on Cat machinery, but are open to any machine type.

If any of you have any experiences you’d like to share, it would be incredibly valuable. We'd love to hear about problems you often encounter, experiences or products you feel could be made better (from the ease of identifying faulty parts, through to how complicated manuals are), how you learned, or how you are currently learning. All comments are welcome from people who want to vent frustration, to those who would love to share methods to help others.

Also if any of you would be interested in maybe in the future giving a short amount of time in the future for a interview over the phone, please let me know.

Thanks

JD955SC

Well since you are focusing on Cat machines I'll talk about SIS.

SIS is pretty much our one stop shop for shop manuals, operation manuals, service letters, parts diagrams, and so on.