• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Some photos from an apprentice

HDMRice

Occupation
Heavy Equipment Tech
Howdy! Name's Mike, and I'm an apprentice Heavy Equipment Technician currently on my 8 month co-op from Centennial College. My co-op term is nearly over and I thought I would share some of the things I have been doing, via picture! I warn you, I am a messy worker...but I'm trying to change.

First things first. Had a D6H with a major oil leak and it was also putting out blue smoke. After a good wash and some investigating I found that oil was coming out of the dipstick, indicating excessive crankcase pressure. I only have some pictures of the rebuilt engine being put in.

d6h6.jpg
d6h5.jpg
d6h1.jpg

Here is a 140h Grader that needed its oscillation joint, lip seals replaced.

140h22.jpg
140h3.jpg
140h8.jpg

140h10.jpg

My super high tech, fancy pants installation tools.
140h14.jpg

140h12.jpg

140h17.jpg

Last edited:

Ross

Nice one mate .. Worth your weight in Gold if you serve your time and are decent at what you do.

That tandem job is the same on the 16M and 24 graders .. Just watch when pulling the chains out as I've see the tandem case split if the chains catch.

Last edited:

HDMRice

Occupation
Heavy Equipment Tech
Last of the pictures for now..I've been planning to do this for a bit.