• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

skidder advice

ipalogger

Hello All,

I'm not a professional logger but have owned and maintained a variety if large construction equipment for about 15 years. I've decided to purchase a skidder but quickly realized that I could really use advice on what to hey for my needs so that I can avoid getting something under/over sized, under powered or just a poor model in general. so for those reading any suggestions on my requirements below are greatly appreciated

I only plan on dragging about 150 trees per year but will be dragging alone. Typically everyone I hook up to the trees I need to drag them about 3/4 of a miles to my clearing. (been using a bulldozer and choker cables till now)
The terrain is mountainous with trails that are just large enough for a 650G dozer.

Need a skidder with a grapple and my budget is between 15 and 25k. Not afraid of a little work but don't want any nightmares either. I had a deere tech tell me that the old 440c was a good machine but I haven't seen them with grapples.

Thank you in advance.

SPMiller

Occupation
Operator
You move 150 single trees a year? You may want to clarify what sort and size of trees.

lumberjack

Why not continue using the dozer? 150 trees a year doesn't seem to justify a $25k layout. In 10 years you would have spent $17 dollars per tree to move them 3/4 mile. That seems mighty expensive to me if the dozer can do it.

Vigilant

Occupation
Attitude Adjuster at the Graybar Hotel