• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Questions On Starting a Backhoe business

jkc

Hello to all. I am a newbie on this site and I have a few questions for all of you experienced diiggers. I am looking to get into the backhoe business with my own dump truck, trailer and backhoe. I have been in the retail business for a while and it stinks now that the economy has taken a dump. I have enough funds to pay for all of my equipment so I will not have any payments. I plan on getting insurance to cover myself. The big question is, is it worth getting into this type of business. I know that you have to work at anything that you do but I want to know about the money and the profit margins. I would like to hear all thoughts.

Bob Horrell

Charter Member
Occupation
Owner/Operator grading business
My advice would be to not limit yourself to just backhoe work. I don't know what is going on in your area, but adding an additional piece of equipment might just open up your job market. In my area, the guys that just do backhoe work are pretty slow, if not out of the business because of the economy. A skidsteer, for instance, with all the attachments that can be rented might open up your opportunities considerably.

El Hombre

Guy I knew told me the insurance ran $400 a month if he never dug deeper than 4 feet. $1600 a month if he went deeper; all the utility lines are under at least 4 feet of dirt. We were down for 3 days of no phones because of someone with a hoe.