1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Questions On Forum Functions

Discussion in 'Support' started by Countryboy, Jan 24, 2008.

?

Were the explanations in the "Forum Functions" thread helpful?

  1. Very Helpful

    4 vote(s)
    18.2%
  2. Helpful

    11 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. Less Than Helpful

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Not Helpful At All

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. I Don't Use The Functions

    7 vote(s)
    31.8%
  1. Blueboy

    Blueboy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    319
    Occupation:
    Machinist. God bless America ! ! !
    Location:
    pittsburgh Pa
    I was wondering why the "change" was made. I just added my profile pic and couldn't figure out how to add a signature. Now I know why. I'll wait for this to be fixed. Steve, thanks for your hard work!
    P.S. Will you let us know when it's fixed on this thread?
     
  2. Steve Frazier

    Steve Frazier Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,601
    Location:
    LaGrangeville, N.Y.
    No
     
  3. AusDave

    AusDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Occupation:
    Self employed
    Location:
    Australia
    Bugger :(
    AusDave
     
  4. digger242j

    digger242j Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,912
    Occupation:
    Self employed excavator
    Location:
    Southwestern PA
    It's already there. Right next to the place where you edit your signature.... ;)
     
  5. Queenslander

    Queenslander Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Australia
    AusDave, Iam lucky to be of a certain age that I have some of that software imprinted in my brain.
    I spent the first 4 or 5 years of school learning all about avoirdupois and the imperial system.
    I was just getting on top of it all when they told us to forget that and learn this new metric stuff.
    Been converting ever since.
     
  6. StumpyWally

    StumpyWally Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Occupation:
    Civil Eng'r, Computer Sys. Mgr., Retired
    Location:
    Liv'in the Dream ---------------> in Upstate NY
    Yes, I thought as much, & as a retired computer systems manager, I understand the necessity.

    Me "whining" about "things that don't work the way they used to" reminds me of some of my own users back before retirement!! So, I'll be patient a while longer, & hope that you get "fixes" implemented in the future. Again, thanks for your hard work on running this forum...please take my "whining" as constructive comments about features that don't exist or don't work, but should, & press on...
     
  7. farmerlund

    farmerlund Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Occupation:
    Farmer/ excavator
    Location:
    North Dakota
    For some reason after I post a comment in a thread, the thread stops showing up when I hit the new posts button. It does this even after another member has posted after me. The only way I can find it is in my alert file. Is this normal or is there a setting I can't find.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Scrub Puller

    Scrub Puller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Gladstone Queensland Australia
    farmerlund . You are not alone. (Grins)
     
  9. Shimmy1

    Shimmy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2,217
    Occupation:
    My name is Brian, and I'm a workaholic.
    Location:
    North Dakota
    After you click new posts, you have to click "recent posts" IMG_20170309_184025.jpg .
     
  10. farmerlund

    farmerlund Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Occupation:
    Farmer/ excavator
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Hey Shimmy, thanks. Geez, I must be blind.
     
  11. Shimmy1

    Shimmy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2,217
    Occupation:
    My name is Brian, and I'm a workaholic.
    Location:
    North Dakota
    It's another feature that I kind of dislike. I know it shouldn't be that big of a deal to click twice, but those ads always like to screw with the page loading. I know, I know, without the ads we wouldn't have HEF. :cool:
     
  12. ol'stonebreaker

    ol'stonebreaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Idaho
    Twice over the last few days I try to open the site and after a little wait I get the notice "502 bad gateway". Does this mean the site is down for maintenance or something else?
    Mike
     
  13. auen1

    auen1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    USA
    Could be a lot of things.

    Check out this link for a better explanation.
    https://www.lifewire.com/502-bad-gateway-error-explained-2622939
    Scroll down to
    How to Fix the 502 Bad Gateway Error

     
  14. auen1

    auen1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    USA
    Scroll down to the bottom of the forum page, look to the left for
    "Flat Awesome".
    If you hover over that, you will get options for skins.
    Choose "Flat Awesome Dark".
    The forum is harder to read, but there are less ads.
    That big ugly one in the top middle of the page is gone.
    I prefer not to see that ad, in exchange for a forum that is harder to read.
     
  15. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,330
    Location:
    IL. USA
    Am I the only one that cannot edit a reply in a private conversation immediately after it was accidentally sent before I finished the reply ?? I had it happen today.
     
  16. digger242j

    digger242j Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,912
    Occupation:
    Self employed excavator
    Location:
    Southwestern PA
    I just checked in the Admin Control Panel, and found the place to adjust the edit time for "Conversations." It had been set to zero.

    Since the old PM system was more like email--once it was sent, it was sent--there wasn't really a way for an edit function to work. Since the "Conversation" system works more like posting a thread, I adjusted the edit time up, to 15 minutes. That should allow enough time to correct such inadvertent errors.
     
    Tinkerer likes this.
  17. StumpyWally

    StumpyWally Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Occupation:
    Civil Eng'r, Computer Sys. Mgr., Retired
    Location:
    Liv'in the Dream ---------------> in Upstate NY
    Steve...any update on getting the problems with "signatures" fixed?? To recap, the problems are
    1. No way to edit my signature??
    2. No way to turn off adding my signature to my posts as the default action?
    3. No way to omit my signature from any post I'm in the process of making?
    4. When I edit a post I just made, no way to omit my signature from that post during the edit process??
    As I mentioned previously. all these things were easy to do on the "old" forum...I otherwise like the "new" forum program.