• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Question regarding control pattern.

NZ scrap handler

Hello all.

This is my first post on this forum (sorry if there is already threads concerning this however I haven't found one that answers my query).

I have been operating excavators for the last 7 years, mostly in scrap environments but also with some civil construction experience. The main ones I have used are Sennebogen 825,835 and Liebherr 924,934. These machines have a long reach boom and stick and a cab that lift into the air about 15 feet for ease of unloading/unloading of high truck sides and stacking stockpiles. In my time I have operated both very old machines upwards of 25000 hrs and brand new straight out of the factory machines. I have operated in New Zealand and Australia with no problems. The control pattern that seems to be the norm here for these scrap handlers (and for any civil construction equipment I have used, Komatsu, Caterpillar, Doosan, etc) have always been from what I understand is generally referred to as cat pattern, or SAE. I have heard of the 'John Deere' pattern which i believe changes the sides of stick and boom. Now my problem is i got offered a job at a new yard operating Sennebogens that on the face of it look no different from the ones I have used in the past both here and in Australia. However upon attempting to use this machine I discovered very abruptly that the open and close of the grapple/bucket is on the left side as well as the main boom, and the slew and stick are on the right. This is the exact opposite of the SAE configuration used by what seems is the rest of the country. I