1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

need help with a genie gs-1930 scissor lift

Discussion in 'Other Compact Equipment' started by choproxy, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Texas
  2. papabear8910

    papabear8910 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    rancho cucamonga
    Thanks for the info really appreciate it
     
  3. papabear8910

    papabear8910 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    rancho cucamonga
    i did some more digging on the lift and i found the really is bad and the wires were really corroded and the relay was bad so it wasn't making a good contact and the terminals were loose as well thanks for all your help moonlite and the till sensor was bad too from working too hard from the corrosion on the relay so it got all messed up. also too some that are loking for the location for the relay it is located above the pump next to were the hydralic tank sits
     
  4. jw3

    jw3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Occupation:
    Plumber
    Location:
    Tx
    Since this appears to be the place for help with these durn things, I have a 1930 that keeps throwing a 18 code. This shows to be the pothole guard error. I checked The switches on each pothole guard are making and breaking with a multimeter The weird thing is that when using the lower controls it doesn't throw the code. Only when using the upper control box does it kick an alarm and code. My ss#is GS3007A-80197. Anyone have any thoughts. Thanks for looking


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. jw3

    jw3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Occupation:
    Plumber
    Location:
    Tx
    Never mind. One of the pothole guard switches was indexed improperly. Used it all day today at the shop, never sounded off. Thank the good lord, that alarm is annoying as hell. Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Robertv2655

    Robertv2655 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello All, I have a Genie 1930 Scissor that is not lifting and showing no codes. Hydraulics working fine on the wheels (turning); so it's not the pump. Electric wheel drive is good for moving around. Flooring is flat smooth slab.
    When I activate lift the pump runs and there is a few inches of lift only, then it stops lifting and it sounds like the pump is loading up. I don't see fluid circulating back to the reservoir either. Any Ideas?
    Genie 1930 SN 26758
     
  7. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Texas
    Does it not lift from the ground controls and platform controls ?
     
  8. Robertv2655

    Robertv2655 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    San Diego
    Both ground and platform controls have the same effect; pump activates and lifts platform a few inches, after which the pump sounds like it's loading up. To me the fluid path is blocked somewhere
     
  9. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Texas
    It sounds to me like you have a broke wire to the lift coil.
     
  10. Robertv2655

    Robertv2655 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    San Diego
    I hope so. Broken wire sounds easy. Now to figure out where a lift coil is. Is that on the hydraulic function manifold or on the lift cylinder itself?
     
  11. Robertv2655

    Robertv2655 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    San Diego
    Update of sorts. Confirmed pump is operational by disconnecting output (to manifold) and running straight into reservoir.
    With hydraulics connected I also disconnected + wire from Lift Circuit Solenoid (on Manifold) and activated ground lift. Pump cycled freely with flow. When I reconnect + wire the pump loads up. When it loads up I can see the strain/distortion (indicates loading up to me) on the hydraulic pump output, manifold output (to cyl), and cylinder input lines (the one going up the cylinder... same a manifold output?). To me the problem is up by the cylinder input/output under the platform. just a guess.
    I am wondering if I'll have to remove the platform to get to whatever is causing the problem. Is that where the lift coil is?
     
  12. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Texas
    IMG_0282.jpg
     
  13. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Texas
    H is the valve for the lift circuit. Did you check the flow for the lift cylinder? Be careful doing that. Really need to test pressures with a gauge. Hydraulic fluid will hurt you.
     
  14. Robertv2655

    Robertv2655 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thank you for the info. I'm getting close.
    I don't know how to check flow and don't have a pressure tester.
    I removed the lift circuit valve and cleaned it out. Then tested lift with no real improvement. I discovered that if I disconnect the + wire from the H coil and touch it momentarily to the H coil + terminal while the pump is running and base "lift" switch is activated, that the platform lifts a few inches. If I do that repeatedly I can raise the platform. I did this until I could set the safety brace in place to prevent lowering (8ft?).
    So now I understand that the lift cylinder only has one hydraulic line (I had thought a separate return line....no). I am wondering how air gets out of the system. Is it simply that I need to bleed the cylinder?
    I can also get to the lift cylinder valve to clean if that is a possible cause.