• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Live Bottom Trailer - Henderson Blackbelt

Devo

First, i'd like to say hi to everyone since this is my first official post on the forum. I'm new here, but i've been operating for a few years.

With that out of the way I'm wondering if anyone here has experience with live bottom trailers, specifically the Henderson Blackbelt?

We recently bought a new tractor and are looking for an end dump or live bottom. I'm advocating for a good live bottom, but others are pressing for an end dump. I happened upon the Blackbelt a year or so ago and thought that this unit might be exactly what we need.

For a bit of background we do mainly municipal services, site prep, and blasting. We currently use tandem dumps for all of our hauling needs, but we have found that we are moving much more material over the road and need a higher capacity truck. Most of are materials are granular, but we do haul a substantial amount of blast rock. The rock, however, is mostly being moved around a site or from a trench to a stockpile so the end dump/live bottom wouldn't have to move much.

Can standard live bottoms handling hauling bank/pit run type material with oversize rock? How about wet materials? I have no experience with them directly.