1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Laptop lost wireless internet

Discussion in 'Geek Patrol' started by willie59, May 28, 2011.

  1. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    I need a computer geek, which I'm not even close. Compac Presario V6000, Windows XP, has lost the wireless device. It worked fine last night when I shut the computer down. Started it up this evening, wireless never came on, just an orange light indicating wireless not on, light is blue when it's working.

    Checked the internet connections at control panel, it shows the LAN, but doesn't even show wireless.

    Opened device manager, shows the NVIDIA network controller, but shows not ethernet device. Back to using a cable for now, which sucks! :Banghead

    Anybody got a clue what has happened??? :confused:
     
  2. smittysrepair

    smittysrepair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Occupation:
    Technical Specialist
    Location:
    Grimsley Tn.
    Just like most of us technicians are accused of doing I am going to blame it on the operator. It must be operator error or abuse!! lol
    Are you sure your wireless router is working?
     
  3. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    LoL, wouldn't hurt me to admit I did something...if I just knew what. :tong

    Problem isn't with router, wife is on wireless at present. This computer has an led on the front of it to indicate the status of wireless device. Blue led indicates wireless is operating, orange led indicates it's off. Got orange led.
     
  4. smittysrepair

    smittysrepair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Occupation:
    Technical Specialist
    Location:
    Grimsley Tn.
    Does your laptop have a button on it to turn off the wireless internet next to the power button or on the case somewheres? I am not familiar with a compact brand laptop so I have to ask to know what to do next.
     
  5. mitch504

    mitch504 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Andrews SC
    On my Gateway, theere is a switch right beside the wireless indicator LED
     
  6. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Yes, it has a sliding switch right next to the LED indicator, switch is in the on position now. Keep in mind, when viewing device manager, it doesn't show wireless device is Off or Disabled...it doesn't show a wireless device (ethernet) at all, there's nothing there.
     
  7. Lee-online

    Lee-online Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    In a van, down by the river
    My HP laptop has a slide switch to turn the wireless on or off. I always seem to move it without knowing.
     
  8. smittysrepair

    smittysrepair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Occupation:
    Technical Specialist
    Location:
    Grimsley Tn.
    Mine is like Lee's also. I am kind of at a loss right now seeing I run windows 7 on my laptop. And you don't want to know what I think of it. lol But anyways I think you can go to control panel then network/internet and I think from there you can set up a wireless internet. I may be wrong though seeing I haven't used windows xp in a while.
     
  9. Willis Bushogin

    Willis Bushogin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    855
    Occupation:
    owner
    Location:
    NC
    I called Compac, for you and they said you needed to change your user name back to ATCOEQUIP LOL
    I had the problem a few months ago and I had hit the switch, I didnt even know I had a switch
    Sorry I couldnt help, but I just had to say this (about the user name LOL)
     
  10. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN

    LoL, well, name change will remain, much like this dastardly cable will remain for now. :Banghead
     
  11. RonG

    RonG Charter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Occupation:
    heavy equipment operator
    Location:
    Meriden ct
    The wireless card in a laptop is often in the same compartment as the memory chips or it may also have its own compartment on the bottom of the laptop.If you find it you can remove and reseat it to see if that helps but beyond that it may need to be replaced.It will have two wires going to it,usually a black and a white one.
    I don't think that it is a network problem because of the orange light so that eliminates any encryption issues etc.
    Those cards are cheap on ebay.If you have an old PCMCIA wireless card you might use that until you sort it out.Ron G
     
  12. dirty4fun

    dirty4fun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    958
    Location:
    N. IL
    My HP has a blue light when it is working, if you touch the blue light it shuts it off and turns orange. That is the switch on mine. Every once and a while I have to reboot my antenna, it is plugged into the power strip with the wireless. Much beyond that and I am lost. I bumped my light one time and that was how I found out it was also the switch for wireless. Good luck getting up and and running.
     
  13. kanewolf

    kanewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Does the wireless NIC (network interface card) show up in the windows device manager (MyComputer -> Properties -> Hardware -> Device Manager -> Network Adapters) ?? Does it have a yellow question mark? My guess is probably NO question mark since it was working.

    Here is a link to the mant. manual http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01035886.pdf According to the manual, there should be a blue light if wireless is working.
     
  14. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Thanks for the replies fellas. :notworthy

    RonG, I'll try removing the wireless card and re-seating it. It's mounted inside a cover on bottom of laptop, not in a card slot, will see it that helps, thanks for the advice.

    kanewolf, big thanks for the maintenance manual, saved it to my documents. Here's a screenshot of device manager open. it's been some time since I last viewed device manager, can't remember for certain what "was" there, but I do recall some form of eternet used to be listed, just plain gone now.



    Device manager screen shot.JPG
     
  15. hvy 1ton

    hvy 1ton Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    There should be an ethernet and wireless device listed. Either stuff has gotten dislodged or more likely the motherboard is going bad. Laptop motherboards are not nearly as reliable as they should be.
    Device Manager.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 29, 2011
  16. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Yep, you're spot on heavylift, I recall my device manager used to list an ethernet device, don't no more, it's gone, not there
     
  17. kanewolf

    kanewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I also notice that there is an option to enable/disable the wireless in the BIOS. Don't know why it would have changed but see Table 2-3 in the above maint. manual. Is wireless enabled in the BIOS? Use the F10 key to enter the BIOS prior to windows loading.
     
  18. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,468
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN

    Ok, restarted puter using F10 prompt, entered bios menus. Selected "System Configuration", no wireless device listed there to enable or disable.

    I was on chatroom last night and it was suggested to update (reload) drivers for wireless device. My question was "how do you update/reload drivers for something that isn't there? Update driver "for what"?

    Me thinks wireless device has plain old crapped out. Would just like to know how to confirm this before I purchase a new one. :)
     
  19. RonG

    RonG Charter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Occupation:
    heavy equipment operator
    Location:
    Meriden ct
    About the easiest and most reliable way would be either replace it with a known good one or install yours in another computer that has been proven to work with a wireless card like yours.Ron G
     
  20. kanewolf

    kanewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Sounds Tango-Uniform to me. The cheapest way to be back in business is probably a USB wireless adapter.