• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Land Clearing

dw710

Hey guys, just thought I'd add a pit of my land clearing project that I'm doing on my own. I'm no professional and I'm clearing my property in preparation to build a house on the back side. I've got just under 5 acres. The front acre of my property is cleared now with a older house that I plan to demo when the new house gets constructed. I'm clearing the back 1/3 of my property and leaving a woods line to separate it and hide the house from road view.

Like I said this has been a learning experience, and also very fun. I originally started clearing with a chain saw (now I wish I had never cut anything down). This was before I purchased a backhoe, I got myself a 89' Ford 455c backhoe to replace my septic system and do odd's and ends, then thought I would use it for clearing my land. It didnt' take me long to realize how much I disliked the backhoe with all the moves, out riggers, etc, etc, So I sold the backhoe and purchased a 87' Liebherr R912 Excavator, which so far has been a pleasant change. The machine is much stronger, and the ability to spin 360' is such a relief! Along with my ability to operate has gotten so much better over time.

I have been looking at the forums for quite a while now, and reading other's inputs, watching video's, etc learning from others. So I figured I would also post my project in hopes of saving some one else from the hard knocks of things I have found along the way...