• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Installing bronze injector cup

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Man, am I a happy camper to have a new topic section to post various repairs, tips, and tricks that others may find useful. I'll get things started here with a repair I had to do recently, something I've never done before. The boss wanted me to have injectors of a Mitsubishi 6D24 in a Kobelco SK480 rebuilt. Easy enough job, a task I've done many times before. But on this one, had a problem with #1 injector, it pulled the bronze injector cup out with injector. You can view what happened at post #11 of The Suck Bucket thread at this link:

https://www.heavyequipmentforums.com/showthread.php?t=20354

Typically, what you would do is remove the cylinder head, and send the head to a head rebuilder and have them go through it and install a new injector cup. And although this engine has an individual head for each cylinder, removing it would have been quite a project because Mitsu used studs for all the exhaust and intake manifold ports, meaning, they would have to be removed. Very rusted nuts and studs on the exhaust manifold, the whole deal would have been a time consuming mess, when all I need to do is install a new injector cup, and the bronze cup was available from Kobelco.