• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

How to save on company's health insurance cost

kthompson

To begin with I am not trying to solicit business, I am a local agent with 30 years in this industry and only trying to share some ideas that can help you lower your health insurance cost. Some of you are doing all these things while others may benefit. I am only licensed in the State Of South Carolina so will be working off of SC law and there are differences in laws between each state so verify in your state.

I work with small business in their employee benefits and very much realize it is a big bit. In the last few years have seen more and more companies trying to figure out what to do with the rising cost. Here are some possible things that MIGHT work for you.

First if your company has more than 50 full time employees or full time equivalent employees (they take the part time and figure the total hours they work to come up with how many full times that equals) you have a FEDEERAL obligation to offer your employees AFFORDABLE qualified health insurance.
Not picking on any company here just using names to help explain but if your company offers say coverage form AFLAC or Colonial it is does not met the standard of QUALIFIED health plan.
Look at your employees and if you have any who are on Medicare it may be best for THEM to leave the group plan and go fully to Medicare with Supplement Coverage, it may not be in their best interest but most often it is.