• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Hitachi EX 120

Johnny Utah

Hello,

I am asking to some help regarding Hitachi EX120 machines, I am new to tracked excavators and have only driven and owned backhoe machines and have little experience with track machines. I understand that a USA spec may differ from UK spec but what should I be looking out for on these machines I understand about undercarriage wear and what not but havent got much basis for judging how worn slew rings etc are.

I viewed a machine yesterday and there a very slight rock on the turntable which I could feel while operating, should I walk away from the machine, I'll try to attatch a picture, the machine is a 1996 EX 120digger12.jpg

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Chris

JackDeere

Utah
You don't mention how many hours are on the machine. If you can feel the play in the swing bearing it is really bad. Anything over 3.05mm of play is bad. To check the play in the bearing you need to attach a dial indicator with a magnetic base to the carbody with the indicator touching the outer part of the bearing bolted to the upperstructure. It takes two people, one operating machine and the other to read the gauge. It can be misleading judging the play by sitting in the seat and rocking the machine.

roddyo

Occupation
Manipulator of the Planet
Rocking Turn Table

Hello,