1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

D6c cat loss of oil pressure

Discussion in 'Dozers' started by Steve.ahlgren85, Nov 13, 2016.

  1. Steve.ahlgren85

    Steve.ahlgren85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Darwin, mn.
    I will do that. Easy to check, as you say!
     
  2. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Occupation:
    Nuclear
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    PROVIDED it does read, I still suggest setting up a air powered oiler. You do not want to send air into the oil rifling just the oil. I use around two to three quarts in my old air tank, fitting at bottom when stand it up feeds oil to engine air on top. Use a standard cheap 90 degree off on valve to control. Feed a minute or so slowly then shut it off and shake the tank, do that until minimal oil in tank and gauge has shown a pressure on machine.
     
    51kw likes this.
  3. oarwhat

    oarwhat Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    buffalo,n.y.
    It can't get any easier than this.
     
  4. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,993
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    I still say if it ran for 10 seconds even a bone dry pump should have picked up it's prime if the oil level was evn close to the full mark on the dipstick! This is especially more true if the engine was cranked over for a bit to get the fuel system bled!

    But if we are going to keep trying to force feed this engine oil how about this off the wall idea? Do yo have another running machine handy? Pull the oil sender out of the running one and hook a hose from that one over to this Cat preferably to a spare point in the oil galley of the Cat and start the other machine. If you want to be real sure pull the valve cover off the Cat and watch for oil coming out around the rocker arms.

    Just don't let it sit there for half an hour, you don't want the oil level to get too low in the supply machine.

    Hard to know for sure at this distance but from what I'm reading I'm under the idea something is left out of the engine, like an oil galley plug or someone plugged off something and forgot to remove it when installing something like an oil cooler. Or maybe installed a check valve backwards. Like I said hard to know from over here.
     
  5. Steve.ahlgren85

    Steve.ahlgren85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Darwin, mn.
    I like the idea about hooking up to another engine!Would a tractor engine work fine?How much oil do I dare transfer from the tractor?Your second thought about the oil filter base plugs,I did remove them, flushed them out with soap and water, maybe installed wrong. Don't think so though!I really appreciate your knowledge!Thanks
     
  6. JS300

    JS300 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Power Plant and Cattle
    Location:
    Texas
    I've been following this thread and I really like Steves outlook on things, seems like a postive type of guy. Me being a realist though I think it might be time to get a good local diesel mechsnic out for the startup. I wouldn't think he had to be a dozer tech just a good diesel tech. Back to the oil priming the Case I have has a switch you can hold until the engine builds oil pressure then release it to fire. I only use it if it's been sitting awhile or really cold outside.
    I really hope you get this mess lined out and the dozer operating again. Goodluck
     
  7. Hobbytime

    Hobbytime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    usa
    X2 on getting a knowledgeable mechanic to take a looksie, something aint right.. all my equipment even after oil changes shows pressure on the oil gauges within a few seconds of start up, it would be a shame to trash the bearings or worse at this point over a possible simple mistake, the $$ spent on a mechanic to take a hands on look may be your best move..
     
  8. JS300

    JS300 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Power Plant and Cattle
    Location:
    Texas
    Hobbytime I've got a Kubota tractor that takes about 5-10 seconds to show oil pressure and when it's freezing temps seems like 20 seconds. Scares the heck out of me everytime. It's my second one and they have both done this. Worse is the skid steer, no gauge just hope the light goes out.
     
  9. Hobbytime

    Hobbytime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    usa
    my backhoe is like that sorta, it shows the gauge move at startup 5 to 10psi and then gets to 55+ after about 2o or so seconds, but at startup the needle does move to show something..but again it has done that for years, so I know its normal for that machine, but on a fresh rebuild and not knowing is more than scary..
     
  10. Steve.ahlgren85

    Steve.ahlgren85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Darwin, mn.
    Probably best to have someone else look at it. I just like to try everything I can myself first. I did replace the oil cooler. Is it possible that it's installed backwards,not allowing oil to pass through?I was unsure about which way to install it, didn't look like it made a difference?Just wondering!
     
  11. JS300

    JS300 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Power Plant and Cattle
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm with you on always wanting to do things myself, I always feel a little defeated if I can't fix it. Might be best to let someone take a look with this kind of time and money on the line though.
    I would test that gauge before anything else though. At a minimum you could unhook the line from it and crank it with the fuel off for 10-15 seconds to see if oil comes out the line. Might do this several times. I wouldn't crank it too long at once as you could burn the starter up.
     
  12. tctractors

    tctractors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    Worc U.K.
    Boy it's painful reading, the 3306 will pick up oil in seconds from new,a simple thing to do to determine where you go with this is, remove the oil filter and crank the engine over with the throttle in the stop position, if there is NO oil pumping out within 10 rotations something is missing, probably the oil pump?
    tctractors
     
    GregsHD and kshansen like this.
  13. JS300

    JS300 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    Power Plant and Cattle
    Location:
    Texas
    Steve did you pour any oil in the filter before you put it on? If not I guess you could see if the oil at least made it to the filter. I know some people say to never prefill a filter but I always do. Probably does more harm than good as most engines pick up in seconds as tctractors said.
     
  14. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,993
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    Another good idea! If you don't want to make a mess just set a tin of some kind under the filter head. If no oil coming some thing real basic is wrong! Did someone put a plug in the suction port of the pump and it never got taken out, don't laugh things like that have happened!
     
  15. Steve.ahlgren85

    Steve.ahlgren85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Darwin, mn.
    I will try cranking the engine a few turns without the filter in, a little scary though. Yes,I first started wlith oil filter full of oil. If I see oil coming from filter base, should mean that pump is pumping oil,correct?I don't want to take the pan off unless I have to !Thanks for the great suggestions!
     
  16. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Occupation:
    Nuclear
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Have you checked your gauge yet?
     
  17. Steve.ahlgren85

    Steve.ahlgren85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Darwin, mn.
    Checked the gauge yesterday, works with air pressure real good!
     
  18. CavinJim

    CavinJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Missouri
    That's a bummer, I was rooting for a bad gauge! Though a good gauge makes it more interesting.....
     
  19. Steve.ahlgren85

    Steve.ahlgren85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Darwin, mn.
    I am a little sceptical about adding oil with air pressure. I am concerned about blowing out the engine seals, if too much air pressure is added. Is that possible?
     
  20. fast_st

    fast_st Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Occupation:
    IT systems admin
    Location:
    Mass
    Not likely to blow out engine seals, if you put oil through a small hole the restriction and viscosity will kill most of the pressure, think big engine oil pumps are circulating oil at 15+ gpm If you take 10 seconds to move a gallon, you're still not up to the pump's level. The last time I moved a gallon in less than 10 seconds it was because I drove over a full oil jug.
     
    old-iron-habit and GregsHD like this.