• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Are my ramps safe?

jhogan2424

I am new to excavators and have a question about loading the IHI 15NX that i recently purchased onto my trailer. The trailer is a common 16 foot rig with slideout ramps that are 4 foot long. The trailer is NOT a dove tail. When my ramps are attached the angle created is about 23 degrees. Is this angle safe to drive the excavator up? I used a different trailer to get it home that had a much lower angle to the ramps but now that trailer is not available and all i have is the one described. I am new to excavators and am just a little afraid of inclines right now.

tuney443

Occupation
excavating contractor
Just go slow and steady and you'll be fine.Be prepared when going over the knife edge that you will change planes rather swiftly.You can either put down a couple tires app.2-3' back from the rear of the trailer and/or use your bucket to counter the ''severity'' of the transition.Whatever you do,DON'T panic and stop quickly,that's how accidents happen.Slow and steady.

sheepfoot