• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Apprentice operator looking for some help

runt

I'm an apprentice operator looking to learn how to roll asphalt. Last season, I got paired with a journeyman operator who was excellent and very generous with her knowledge, and now having some time off this winter I've been going out to my training school to try and replicate the things I learned. Problem is, I have no hot asphalt to roll--just millings. The journeyman said I can "learn a lot on dirt" but didn't elaborate much. Yesterday i spent 8 hours rolling over a stretch of graded millings, basically just getting the feel for the way the machine moves and how to make it do what I want. When I go back out there next week, I'd like to be able have some actual exercises to do. Any roller operators here that have some good tips on how to practice? I have access to some concrete blocks that I might be able to set up as a false curbline... I was thinking that might be a good idea. The roller I have is Hamm HD90 vibratory tandem drum roller. Which is good, because the company I work for has all Hamms.