• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

1986 GMC

Randy1974

Hi all! New Guy here!! I bought a 1986 GMC C7000 single axle dump last fall from a guy I work with. I drove the truck for him a few years ago so I have some knowledge of the truck. It has been sitting for a few years so I plan on doing some work to it. The Vin says it has a 427 BBC engine in it. Its back by a 5 speed transmission and a 2 speed rear axle and air brakes. The odometer says 81,096. My question is what oil should I run in the engine? I was thinking about 15w40 but not sure. I am gonna change the rear axle oil and transmission oil and probably the hydraulic oil. It also has a rear axle seal leaking. What size is the locking nut for the rear bearing? Thanks for any help!

Randy

Welder Dave

15W40 is typically a diesel oil. I have a newer similar truck with a 366 and run a good 10W30 gas oil. 10W40 would be fine too.

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
I wouldn't run a diesel oil either. Too much detergent action for an older high mileage truck. Who knows what kind of crud it might knock loose. I would say a multi-viscosity as mentioned above would be fine. I don't recall the part number but I used to run a larger oil filter, twice the size of a standard filter for a big block gas motor. A little extra media and volume won't hurt a thing.

As far as nut size, it should be like a trailer hub so odds are a big pair of channel locks or a hammer and chisel will get it loose. I'd say in the 3 to 3-1/2" range. Any heavy truck parts place should be able to sell you a socket for it. Doesn't need to be impact it can be the lighter duty setup.

Junkyard