Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fair backhoe rates

Fair backhoe rates

Now that I've probably got my case 580M coming this week, I am going to start actively trying to make money with it on the side. I'm primarily using it to dig my own foundations, septic, r/w retention systems, driveways, etc.

BUT, my plumber and others are asking me how much $$ for smaller foundations, trenches, digging up stumps, etc. Heck, I have a friend who has a giant piece of property he needs all kinds of work done (land clearing, stump removal, etc.) that could keep me busy for a while alone.

I'm not a professional excavator, but what's a fair rate for my machine and a decent operator per hour or per day just digging with my machine?

$100/hr? guess?

I would say depending on your area $65-$75 per hour

Banned
    Rubber tired hoe rate is 80 dollars per hour around these parts thats 80 dollars CND so 74 dollars US.

I'm getting $50/hr Canadian most on average get $50-65/hr.

$90+ an hour is more excavator rates

We figure about $95/hr for ours. Most people just want a bottom line number, but you still need to figure what the hourly rate will be. Estimating the time it will take you is the main thing that takes some figuring.

Also part of your rate will be affected by your costs. For example, using the owning and operating cost calculator from www.constructionequipment.com I know that our 420D costs us $38 for every hour that clicks over on the meter. Your own costs will be affected by how much work the machine gets and other factors. Keeping your rate in line with the local area is important, but not if you can't cover costs.
    2001 Cat 420D with a bunch of goodies

1977 Gmc 6500 dump with 10ft plow

www.kawieriders.com

man, that seems cheap. Nobody around here lives in less than a $600,000 house. (except me haha) Most homes are in the $1,000,000 range, many higher.

Charter Member

Please!