Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: pop up ad

  1. #1
    Senior Member Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rural Missouri
    Posts
    836

    pop up ad

    I had some sort of ad pop in from the side of the forum today . Is this a paid ad or do I have a bug ?? It said something about comparing movers .
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by Tiny; 04-24-2012 at 09:30 PM.
    Heavy Equipment Relocation Specialist

  2. #2
    Senior Member Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rural Missouri
    Posts
    836
    Only get it in the "Equipment Moving Questions" forums
    Heavy Equipment Relocation Specialist

  3. #3
    Administrator digger242j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Southwestern PA
    Posts
    4,971
    That doesn't look normal. I'll forward this thread to the tech, right now.
    Proudly spending today building the dilapidated housing of the 22nd century....


    Read the Forum Rules Here

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    northern minnesota
    Posts
    900
    Its from your wife Tiny.,,,,, a hintfull message.
    I treat everybody the same...... I give em all grief.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Huntoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    162
    That is a bug on your browser. I have had that before too. You have to uninstall it from you computer. Mine was from a company called widdit. they claim it isn't bad but I hated it. Here they post how to remove: http://www.widdit.com/howtoremove/Remove_Complitly.html

  6. #6
    Senior Member BrianHay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Nanaimo B.C
    Posts
    514
    Rotten buggers are getting smarter all the time with how they deliver spam eh. This is the first time I have seen this one before but I discovered another that worked the same way not long ago.

    I went to go do some work on my own website and it had text enhance links on it ....or so I thought at first. I went combing through all my files trying to find it thinking that I had been hacked and the code placed on it. After finding nothing I went and asked Google about it and discovered it was something that had been installed on my computer along with something I needed to watch movies...with the family, not those kinds of movies

    That really bugs me because even myself who is very knowledgeable about computers and the internet did not know it was on my computer and not my website until I investigated. So I am sure the majority that see them think those crappy links are supposed to be on my site.

  7. #7
    Administrator petertdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    101
    This is definately not something HEF is doing. Currently, the only ads we're serving are the Google ads, and you can only see them when you are not logged into the forum. It could be a number of different things, but my top guess would be some adware was installed on your computer. It could also be an exploit directly on HEF, and I'm checking on that (I would expect more people would be complaining if that were the case, though). I'm guessing that it's taking the "Moving" out of the forum name and that's why it's serving you movers ads. I'm not seeing any ads in that section, is anyone else? It's always good to speak up when you see something that is out of place, even if it does turn out it was just you.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rural Missouri
    Posts
    836
    Thank You Gentlemen . Huntoon that did the trick . I was worried after the last go around that something had snuck in the site (I hate going thru HEF withdrawls)
    Heavy Equipment Relocation Specialist

  9. #9
    Senior Member hvy 1ton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    845
    Tiny you should probably run a malware scan, too make sure that program didn't let in anything else. I've yet to have malwarebytes let me down. Free version is available here. My dad got into some really nasty stuff last week and it wound up turning the virius/firewall stuff off.
    Last edited by hvy 1ton; 04-26-2012 at 01:25 AM. Reason: added link
    Life summed up by refrigerator magnets:
    HE WHO DIES WITH THE MOST TOYS WINS
    OLD RANCHERS NEVER DIE,
    THEY JUST QUIT HORSIN AROUND

  10. #10
    Senior Member Huntoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    162
    I run really Avast pro, and I still got this crap installed on my computer. I think it is because it really isn't a virus or "malware". I think it is installed with other programs, especially cheasy popular one. You click agree with terms and get some extra software installed. At least that's how it happened with me when I downloaded Freecorder for downloading a youtube clip.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rural Missouri
    Posts
    836
    Quote Originally Posted by hvy 1ton View Post
    Tiny you should probably run a malware scan, too make sure that program didn't let in anything else. I've yet to have malwarebytes let me down. Free version is available here. My dad got into some really nasty stuff last week and it wound up turning the virius/firewall stuff off.
    I do have that one and two more . Didn't pick anything up . It was a downloaded program

    Quote Originally Posted by Huntoon View Post
    I run really Avast pro, and I still got this crap installed on my computer. I think it is because it really isn't a virus or "malware". I think it is installed with other programs, especially cheasy popular one. You click agree with terms and get some extra software installed. At least that's how it happened with me when I downloaded Freecorder for downloading a youtube clip.
    We must be doing the same thing . Downloaded Freecorder also like 6 months ago ... Didn't show until now though .
    Heavy Equipment Relocation Specialist

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •