Thread: (PA) Tri-axle dump truck question

(PA) Tri-axle dump truck question

Obviously, I'm no expert on the subject, but looking over axle weight limitations got me thinking.

I usually see tri-axles in PA set up with 18-20k fronts, 44-46k rears, and an 18k pusher, often with singles instead of duals. I know the max GVWR is 73,280 lbs, but this is what I don't get - for rear axles I see that if you're less 6' center-center on two axles (tandems) your max axle weight is 18k (or 36k as tandems). If that is the case, why are tri-axles built with such heavy tandem rears? Also, if the pusher is "supposed" to hold as much weight as the tandems, why are they often 18k and singles instead of duals? Finally, does this sort of thing apply to things like tag trailers, where a 20 ton trailer is effectively an 18 ton due to axle spacing?

I know the rules are different out your way, but the basic idea is the same.

The reason for 46,000 tandems is generally for when the lift axle is up when offroad or onsite, if you guys use lift axles for that third axle like we do. Also a heavier axle setup can take more abuse, etc.

As for axle spacing we have rules, "bridge law" that limit how much weight can be on a axle combo spread. For example we have a TrailMax tri-axle trailer, model TRD-50T with 17.5 tires. This trailer has a spread of 49" between axle centers or a total of 8'2". The later model TrailMax TRD-54T is the exact same trailer but has a axle spread of 54.5" ctc or a total of 9'1". So with our laws here I can carry 42,000 pounds on the axles, but the TRD-54 can carry 42,500. Not a lot of difference based on our bridge laws, but the trailer GVWR's are a lot different 61,800 for the TRD-50 and 66,600 for the TRD-54, trailer load capacity is 49,000 for the TRD-50 and 53,950 for the TRD-54. These differences would be a advantage back east where the laws are a little looser, whereas with our bridge law we never can reach the full capacity of the trailer.

Hi !