Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 70

Thread: Kobelco SK210 Pump Problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30

    Kobelco SK210 Pump Problem

    Well I got the undercarriage squared away for now but another problem has risen. While working the other day, the machine seemed like it was lugging, throwing black smoke and didn't have the power that it normally does. I figured it was a fuel filter so I changed it, drained in water in the seperator, and cleaned the filter in the banjo fitting on the fuel pump. Long story short, this changed nothing.

    I kept working for about 10 min after the fuel filter change until a error code popped up on the screen saying "Pump P2 Propo Valve" with the letters "PSV" in a box next to it and a small "E2" on top of the box. When this code popped up the left track immediatly started acting up (it would only turn very slowly in either direction). The right track was still fine.

    After a few min. the left track started working again, and the code went away. Shortly thereafter the code came back on but the left track was working fine. All the while, hydraulic performance seemed down and the machine was blowing black smoke.

    The machine is now sitting b/c I dont want to screw anything up. I also cleaned the pilot filter to no effect.

    Now that yall are thoroughly confused... what do you think???

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    2,547
    I think this machine has a Kawasaki pump which is controlled by one solenoid for each section. Anyway it sounds like a wiring issue or problem coil in the solenoid.

    There should be a wire connecting to each solenoid on the pump. Make sure it is making good contact. If it is follow the wiring harness through the machine looking for worn spots or oil soakings.

    There is probably a specification for resistance through the coil or a milliamp reading range. I don't have that info so maybe someone else could supply it.

    Good Luck!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30
    Thanks, Ill check the wiring today...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    central pa
    Posts
    209

    kobelco pump

    that machine has two solenoids one for each half of the main pump check the one on the second half of the pump kobelco numbers them from the engine out the solenoids do go bad we have changed a few of them but we have several thousand machine out

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30
    Would this solenoid cause the machine to seem like its running under a high load even when it isnt? what about a picture of the solenoid. I think I know where the solenoid is but am not totally sure.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30
    Checked the wiring... all seemed ok. Removed the solenoid... the plunger seemed like it would not move all the way out when i would plug it into the harness with the key on. Does this mean the solenoid is bad?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    central pa
    Posts
    209

    solenoid

    The solenoids are porportional and get there signal from the cpu so they move different amounts to keep the pump stroked and not lug the engine down you could try switching them and see if the problem changes sides it could need the software reloaded in the computer or just reset.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30
    Good idea, ill try that next. So the solenoids on pump 1 and pump 2 are the same?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30

    What Now??

    I swapped the two solenoids (pump 1 & 2) but the error readout still said there was a problem with pump # 2. So I guess replacing the solenoid thats acting up a new one won't solve the problem

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    central pa
    Posts
    209

    pump problem

    No it won't you either have trouble in the wireing or with the controller need to have someone with a lap top and software plug into it and check to see what is going wrong

  11. #11
    Resigned
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    433
    your machine does not require a laptop to access and troubleshoot.
    the servicemans diagnostic check screens are already made available in the cab display monitor.
    provide the ser# yq09-u or yq08-u or yq07-u?
    i can help isolate your problem.
    once i know ser# i can picture your cab.
    then i can explain which buttons you press to access.
    on the sk210 if you simply unplug the harness psv-1 or psv-2 the hyd pump will load up to 2,000 psi+
    the fault code is telliong you the computer has sensed a problem.
    after 5-10 seconds after it sees by scanning the circuits the fault code pops up.
    if you switched the psv-1 & psv-2 wires only and the fault code remains saying pump 2
    then the wiring is broken connection or grounding out enough to the frame of the machine to cause issue.
    look in the pump compartment at the harness as it goes over the frame under the bell hsng. it likes to rub into wires there.
    check bare spots and if wire is good electrical tape and protect.
    this should be fixed asap.
    if not you will burn out your hyd pump!

  12. #12
    Resigned
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    433
    by the way left track is controlled by pump 2.
    the fault code you are getting is in direct relation to the mistracking of the machine.
    when i get you into the display i can make other checks to better your machine.

  13. #13
    Resigned
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    433
    did you swap the solenoids or just simply the wiring to the solenoids?
    the solenoids are the same.
    if you swapped the proportional solenoids and the code stayed e2 then the solenoid is okay.
    if solenoid was bad the code should have changed to e1.
    note all wiring connections have what i call a pigeon tag remove paint and tag etched with letters that correspond with the electrical wiring diagram.
    pump 1 is closest to the engine, pump 2 is nearest you. small pump is for your pilot controls (p3).
    keep me posted.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    central pa
    Posts
    209

    diagonstic

    Yes there are checks you can do with the monitor but there also have been a lot of issues with the software programing on some of those machines and there is nothing you can do with that sometimes all it takes if a reprogram of the cpu. and maybe a upgrade to the newest software version and that will also make the machine preform better also

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    30
    Mr. Kobelco,

    I switched the actual solenoids and the fault code stayed the same. I was afraid switching the wiring could screw something up worse than it already is. I will get the serial number for you asap as the machine is down until I get this fixed. Thanks.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •