PDA

View Full Version : Case 580ck Not Wanting To Start

Mike.580ck
12-26-2012, 11:52 PM
ok for all you case 580 gurus out there , i have recently bought a 1974 Case 580 c-ck not sure which because its marked with both but anyways it has the case 188 diesel engine, when i got it the head was off and had been completely re done , so i put it all back together also the injection pump has been completely rebuilt, i took the pump off and checked everything out because the guy said it wasnt pumping , i got it back in and the injection pump drive shaft is in correct time as is the pump drive gear being lined up perfect dot to pointer, its getting fuel to the injectors and ive tried with the intake heater and engine block heater on, im stumped, it just cranks and cranks and cranks and nothing it doesnt even seem to want to fire off im not a diesel mechanic so i dont know what to do next , im going to buy new fuel filters for it in the morning, any ideas ?, any help would be greatly appreciated Thanks in advance

mitch504
12-27-2012, 01:40 AM
Have you checked compression? Did you think to pour some diesel fuel in the cylinders while the head was off to check for stuck/broke rings?

You also might pull the injectors, turn the lines around so the injectors are out away from the engine and look at the spray pattern of your injectors. Be careful not to touch the injectors while the engine is spinning, fuel injected into the body leads to amputation.

gusbratz
12-27-2012, 03:08 AM
If the lines were all empty it takes a lot of crankeing to get all the air out. The Pump is only delivering a tiny little drop of fuel to each line per revolution. I am assumeing you cracked open the return line fitting where it comes from the pump. If you see good fuel flowing throught that you know fuel is going through the filters and through the pump. A full tank of fuel always helps too when priming.

Tinkerer
12-27-2012, 07:22 AM